TERMS AND CONDITIONS – eTick.ca and eTick mobile application

Username and Password
In order to submit a tick picture and associated data to eTick.ca and the eTick mobile application, you have the option to register as a user of the website and mobile application. As such, you will need to create a username and password. It is your responsibility to keep your username and password confidential as you will be responsible for all activities carried out on eTick.ca and the eTick mobile application under your username and password.

Communications
When making a submission to eTick, whether as a guest or registered user, you agree to receiving all communications from eTick relating to your submissions via email.

Code of Conduct
You are responsible for all information submitted to eTick.ca and the eTick mobile application, and you agree not to:

-Submit false tick records, including photographs and all associated data.

-Post, submit or upload any submissions that contain material for which copyrights have not been explicitly obtained and/or advertisement of any kind and/or transmit any software viruses or files designated to damage or corrupt data of good working order.

The eTick administrators reserve the right to cancel user account without notice if a submission has been found to be false or offensive.

You can review the most current version of the Terms and Conditions at any time on eTick.ca and the eTick mobile application. We reserve the right to update, change or replace any part of these Terms and Conditions by posting updates and/or changes to our website and mobile application. It is your responsibility to check this page periodically for changes. Your continued use of, or access to, the website and mobile application following the posting of any changes constitutes acceptance of those changes.

Copyrights
eTick and its partners retain the copyright on the eTick concept, products and logo, as well as on all data provided to researchers/authors/users, unless the copyright has been legally transferred to another party. Photographs posted on eTick.ca and the eTick mobile application are part of the public domain and therefore no longer the publisher’s property and may be used by anyone with access to the website or mobile application. In submitting a photograph of a tick, the submitter agrees to the possibility of their photograph being seen and potentially redistributed without further permission from eTick and its partners.

Use and redistribution of eTick data
Permission must be obtained from eTick administrators before using eTick data. Unless otherwise arranged, any eTick data will be provided to researchers/authors/users with the clear understanding that it will be used specifically for the purposes identified in the request (e.g. proposed publication, graduate thesis). If the researchers/users wish to use the same data for a purpose different from that of the original request, the researchers/authors must re-apply for permission.

Without specific approval, no data provided by eTick can be distributed beyond the researchers/authors/users requesting the data. Raw data should not be made available for download through the Internet, but derived data (maps, tables) are usually acceptable. If you plan to present eTick data on the Internet, the nature of the visualization(s) must be specified in your data request.

Authorship and Acknowledgements
If a request for data includes proposed research with significant eTick staff contributions, then agreement on the role of involved staff, joint authorship, and order of authors on publications must be reached before the data are released.

The researchers/authors agree to acknowledge eTick (as well as the partners when applicable) in all relevant publications. eTick review of manuscripts (or parts thereof) before submission to journals is requested as a courtesy, especially in cases where eTick policy or operating practice is a subject of discussion or conclusions.

eTick data should be cited as follows:
eTick 2021. Public platform for image-based identification and population monitoring in Canada. Available from: http://www.eTick.ca
.

In addition, we require that the following statement be included in the acknowledgement section of any publication: We thank eTick for supplying data. We would also like to thank all of the volunteer participants who gathered data for the project.

If data retrieved from eTick are to be used for web-based products (maps, summaries, etc.), you must contact us for instructions on applicable contributor/partner logo(s) and website link(s).

Last update: September 7, 2021

TERMES ET CONDITIONS – eTick.ca et application mobile eTick

Nom d’utilisateur et mot de passe
Pour soumettre la photo d’une tique et des données associées sur eTick.ca et l’application mobile eTick, vous avez l’option de vous inscrire en tant qu’utilisateur du site internet et de l’application mobile. Pour ce faire, vous devrez créer un nom d’utilisateur et un mot de passe. Il est de votre responsabilité de maintenir ces informations confidentielles puisque vous serez tenu responsable de toutes activités effectuées sur eTick.ca et l’application mobile eTick sous votre nom d’utilisateur et votre mot de passe.

Communications
Lorsque vous faites une soumission sur eTick, que ce soit en tant qu’invité ou en tant qu’utilisateur enregistré, vous acceptez de recevoir par courrier électronique toutes les communications d’eTick relatives à vos soumissions.

Code de conduite
Vous êtes responsable de toute information soumise à eTick.ca et l’application mobile eTick, et vous acceptez de ne pas:

-Émettre une fausse soumission de tique, incluant les photographies et les données associées.

-Soumettre ou télécharger du matériel protégé par des droits d’auteur sans avoir d’autorisations explicites et/ou d’effectuer des publicités de tout genre et/ou transmettre des virus informatiques ou des fichiers qui visent à endommager ou corrompe le bon fonctionnement des données.

Les administrateurs d’eTick se réservent le droit de canceller un compte d’utilisateur sans préavis si une soumission s’est avérée fausse ou offensante.

Vous pouvez consulter la plus récente version des Termes et Conditions à tout moment sur eTick.ca et l’application mobile eTick. Nous nous réservons le droit de mettre à jour, changer ou remplacer certains éléments des Termes et Conditions en affichant les mises à jour et/ou changements sur notre site internet et application mobile. Il est de votre responsabilité de le vérifier périodiquement pour les consulter.

Droits d’auteur

eTick et ses partenaires conservent le droit d’auteur sur le concept, les produits, et le logo d’eTick, ainsi que sur toutes les données fournies aux chercheurs/auteurs/utilisateurs à moins que le droit d’auteur n’ait été légalement transféré à un tiers clairement identifié.

Les images soumises sur eTick.ca et l’application mobile eTick relèvent du domaine public et peuvent être utilisées par quiconque y ayant accès. En soumettant une image, l’utilisateur accepte la possibilité que cette dernière puisse être vue, utilisée et potentiellement redistribuée sans aucune permission d’eTick et de ses partenaires.

Utilisation et redistribution des données eTick.ca
Une autorisation doit être obtenue auprès des administrateurs d’eTick avant d’utiliser les données d’eTick. Sauf sous modalités contraires, les données d’eTick seront fournies aux chercheurs/auteurs/utilisateurs avec la compréhension claire qu’elles seront utilisées spécifiquement aux fins identifiées dans la demande (p. ex. publication proposée, thèse d’étude graduée). Si les chercheurs/utilisateurs souhaitent utiliser les mêmes données dans un but différent de celui de la demande initiale, les chercheurs/auteurs doivent présenter une nouvelle demande d’autorisation.

Sans approbation spécifique, aucune donnée fournie par eTick ne peut être distribuée au-delà des chercheurs/auteurs/utilisateurs qui demandent les données, sauf pour les photographies qui relèvent du domaine public. Les données brutes ne doivent pas être postées ou distribuées pour téléchargement  sur Internet, mais les données dérivées (cartes, tableaux) sont généralement acceptables. Si vous prévoyez présenter des données de eTick sur Internet, la nature des visualisations doit être précisée dans votre demande de données.

Auteur et Remerciements
Si une demande de données comprend des recherches proposées impliquant une contribution importante de la part du personnel de eTick, un accord sur le rôle du personnel impliqué, la collaboration aux droits d’auteur et l’ordre des auteurs sur les publications devra être conclu avant que les données ne soient partagées.

Les chercheurs/auteurs acceptent de remercier eTick (ainsi que les partenaires le cas échéant) dans toutes les publications pertinentes. eTick demande, à titre de courtoisie, de faire l’examen des manuscrits le concernant (en entier ou en partie) avant leur soumission à des revues, en particulier dans les cas où la politique ou la pratique d’eTick fait l’objet de discussions ou de conclusions.

Les données eTick doivent être citées comme suit:
eTick 2021. Plateforme publique d’identification d’images et de suivi des populations de tiques au Canada. Disponible à: http://www.eTick.ca.

De plus, nous exigeons que la déclaration suivante soit incluse dans la section remerciements de toute publication: Nous remercions eTick d’avoir fourni les données. Nous aimerions également remercier tous les participants bénévoles qui ont amassé des données pour le projet.

Si des données extraites d’eTick sont utilisées pour développer des produits en ligne (cartes, résumés, etc.), vous devez nous contacter pour obtenir des instructions sur le logo et le(s) lien(s) du (des) partenaire(s).

Dernière mise à jour : 7 septembre 2021